COTABATO CITY- The Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries, and Agrarian Reform joins the celebration of the Shariff Kabunsuan Festival with the theme “Honoring Traditions, Forging New Horizons. “

Today, December 19, Director General for Fisheries Pendatun S. Patarasa, MPA, Director II for Fisheries Regulatory and Research Services Mohammadtaha S. Pendaliday, Ph.D., and Director II for Regulatory and Quarantine Services Jamir Guimba, spearheaded the team.

MAFAR participated in the Guinakit Fluvial Parade from Mother Barangay Kalanganan to the Bangsamoro Ports Management Office at Poblacion V. The parade marked the introduction of Islam to the locals by Shariff Mohammad Kabunsuan upon his arrival in mainland Mindanao.

Moreover, MAFAR hosted a Kanduli after the parade at the City Mall Convention, and Director Pendaliday welcomed the guests from MIPA, MPW, MTIT, MENRE, MOH, MBHTE, OCM and Tabunaway and Mamalu descendants.

This activity is annually celebrated on the 19th of December, commemorating the arrival of Shariff Kabunsuan, and this event showcases the heritage and culture of Cotabatao City.

DG Patarasa said, “On behalf of Minister Mohammad S. Yacob, Ph.D., we are honored and grateful for all our guests from the different ministries and offices because this shows a spirit of solidarity and giving full importance to Shariff Kabunsuan.

“This activity symbolizes that we are one, and every one of us is involved and contributing to making this history happen,” DG Paratrasa said.

He said that we are represented by different ministries, but we are valuable in the sense that we are connected. That connectivity amongst us is important for us to remember that we are one.

On the other hand, as part of the Shariff Kabunsuan celebration, the Ministry also conducted the MAFARLENGKE trade fair and exhibits at the Niyogosyo Fair and Exposition and Agri Trade Fair.

Various local agri-fishery value-added products region-wide were showcased and promoted during the activity, assisting the smallholder farmers, fisherfolk, and agrarian reform beneficiaries.